Tinley Park Five Getting Transferred, Letter from Cody

CodyInFieldWhile we’re still awaiting word about where Alex and Tucker are going to wind up, we’ve got addresses for Jason, Cody, and Dylan. We’re pretty surprised that it’s taking this long for them to get transferred.

The Tinley Park Five wanted to say thanks for all the wonderful letters they’ve been receiving and would especially like to thank those in Anonymous who worked on #opValentine. The letter writing parties and benefit shows make such a huge difference, they hope you all to know just how grateful they are. If you’re planning on doing a benefit show or letter-writing party, we’re beginning to accumulate some posters and tabling resources here.

We just received this letter from Cody Sutherlin that he asked us to post:

To my Family, Friends, Comrades, Supporters, and Fans,
Thank you! I appreciate all the cards and letters full of support. Through all of the turmoil over the last nine months, you all have helped me to weather the storm. Unless you’ve been through what we have, you can’t understand what it feels like to be incarcerated and have a nation of support out there. Hearing everything that has taken place has warmed my heart. From the fundraising to the protests, the benefit shows to the letter writing to the visits… I thank you all! I know that it was hard for people to hear that we were taking such unreasonable plea bargains, but the judge and prosecution would have done everything in their power to cook us had we not. Aside from it being an unfair playing field, we simply could not put our loved ones through the stress of the messy trial that it would have been. I also would like to thank our legal team for all of their hard work and time. Our lawyers went thorough so much with this case, including death threats, and did everything in their power to defend us. Again the State was just simply not playing fair, which made their job all that much harder. I want to let everyone know that personally, I am simply glad to have it all over with. The facility I am in now is like summer camp compared to Cook County Jail, and it is filled with opportunities to shave time off my sentence. I am currently working on enrolling in college courses, where i will receive a 1/2 day credit for every day I am enrolled. It’s looking like I can reasonably expect to be released between February and May of next year, maybe sooner if some more opportunities arise. If not though, between school and the gym, my time will go by in a flash. I wanted to let everyone know not to spend much money on books for me, because I have a library available to me here. If there’s something that I really want that I cannot get here, I will let people know. If people would like to contribute in some way, donate money to the WePay account or continue to write letters. Other than that, when I am released I expect a big welcome home party! Again, I want to thank everyone for all of their love and support and I look forward to seeing everyone on the outside.

-Cody Lee

 

We’ll continue to post any updates and change of status for the Tinley Park Five on their individual TP5 pages. Updates for John Tucker and Alex Stuck should be coming very soon.

 

Leave a Reply

